The Complete Plays of Sophocles (The Seven Plays in English Verse)

One of the most famous poets from classical antiquity, Sophocles was one of three important ancient Greek tragedians, the others being Aeschylus and Euripides. Writing during the 5th century BC, Sophocles created some one hundred and twenty three plays during his lifetime, of which only seven have survived in their entirety. Included in this edition are those seven complete plays, as translated by Lewis Campbell and include the following: Antigone, Aias (Ajax), Oedipus the King, Electra, The Trachinian Maidens (The Trachiniae), Philoctetes, and Oedipus at Colonus. These classic tragedies are essential reading and their influence on modern literature and drama is a profound one.

Категория: Античная литература

ISBN: 9781420936681

Правообладатель: Ingram

Возраст: 0+

Все книги автора

Читать книгу онлайн: